11 April 2013

The Leslie Scalapino Award for Innovative Women Playwrights

Find the original call at The Relationship


In memory of Leslie Scalapino, her extraordinary body of work, and her commitment to the community of experimental writing and performance.

The Leslie Scalapino Award recognizes the importance of exploratory approaches and an innovative spirit in writing for performance. It wishes to encourage women writers who are taking risks with the playwriting form by offering the opportunity to gain wider exposure through readings and productions. The award will also seek to increase public awareness for this vibrant contemporary field.

We are looking for a full-length work for live performance by a woman writer with an inquiring approach to language and content.


The winner will receive a $2,500 cash prize, print publication of winning play by Litmus Press, and a staged reading of the piece this October at the The New Ohio Theatre in New York, by Fiona Templeton's company The Relationship.

Judges: Caroline Bergvall, E. Tracy Grinnell, Fiona Templeton.

In subsequent years, the prize will also include the opportunity for a full production by The Relationship or another theatre company.

The Leslie Scalapino Award for Innovative Women Playwrights is funded in part by the Leslie Scalapino–O Books Fund and is administered by The Relationship. Publication of award-winning works will be in collaboration with Litmus Press. For more information about Leslie Scalapino, please visit her website: www.lesliescalapino.com.


Potential applicants will find a familiarity with the works of Leslie Scalapino a useful reference – we are not looking for imitators or conventional playwrighting, but writing that is challenging, poetic and innovative.

Initial applications should consist of a cover letter*, a 10-page excerpt, and a 150 word (maximum) summary of the full piece. We will request full scripts from a shortlist of selected candidates.

The Award for Innovative Women Playwrights intends to support new writing by female-identified people, inclusive of transwomen.

The prize is open to international submissions in English.

Only one performance text / script may be submitted. The work should not have been previously produced, as the intention is to support new works.

*The play must be accompanied by a letter containing the writer's name, address, email address, and a short biography (one paragraph).


SUBMISSION DEADLINE: MAY 30th 2013 11:59 pm

Shortlist announced: July 30th

Deadline for full scripts from shortlisted candidates: August 15th 11:59 pm

Announcement of winning work and reading details: September 30th, 2013

Reading and announcement of round 2: October 2013, details tbc

Ready to submit? Click Here

No comments:

Post a Comment